Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: When We Clicked

22032687

Author: Yash Pawaskar
Pages: 225
Publisher: Frog books, an imprint of Leadstart Publishing
Cover design: Mishta Roy

  • Ratings-

Cover : 3.5/5
Title : 4/5
Blurb : 3.5/5
Story : 4/5
Theme : 4/5
Characters : 4/5
Overall : 4.5/5

  • Characters-
  1. Akhil Parlekar- The protagonist
  2. Tamanna- A tourist
  3. Aditya Dasgupta aka Filmy- Akhil’s best friend
  • Blurb:

Two strangers, one city, four days, one night, one lie and a fantastic journey. ‘When We Clicked’ is my twisted love story. I am Akhil Parlekar, a Mumbaikar in my early twenties. Like every other Mumbaikar I love my city, consider Sachin Tendulkar a God fantasize about Katrina Kaif, but I am about to die. Before I was dying, I lived my life in four days, when we clicked. It was love at first sight for me, but not for her. I spent the four days with her wandering in the city, thinking that she would fall in love with me, but the night that followed the fourth day, changed everything. This journey is about emotions like humour, lust, hatred, betrayal, heroism, friendship and the biggest emotion of them all; love. I am letting you in my heart as well as my brain, you be the judge if this is a love story or not. ‘You are the protagonist of your life’s story, the central character around which all the other characters and incidents occur. When the protagonist of your story changes to someone else, you are in love. That person becomes the central character of your story and everything else revolves around the person you love.’

  • Review-

“When We Clicked” by Yash Pawaskar is one of those books which will be celebrated if converted to a movie! From the start till the end, I was glued to the story and what a wonderful experience I had with this book! The story starts with a suicide note by the protagonist, following a flashback of what led to the suicide attempt. Akhil is a simple Mumbaikar looking for a job when he falls in love at first sight. Unlike the usual guys, he dares to talk to this girl who seems to have stolen his heart and then starts a series of lies woven by Akhil just to make sure he spends more and more time with her. This girl, Tamanna, claims to be in the city for capturing its beauty to showcase in a photography competition. Akhil plays the role of her guide and they spend some beautiful time together. Only on the last day when he is about to propose his love to her, a sudden twist leaves the proposal incomplete. Whether Akhil loses his life in his suicide attempt, did he finally get the love of his life, and why in the first place did he even attempt to commit the suicide! Well, you will love to read it all in the book and the climax will definitely make you fall in love with the story.

  • Appreciations:

Akhil is a natural storyteller. The one-liners, philosophical debates between Akhil and Tamanna, witty dialogues and a constant dose of entertainment makes the book a perfect weekend read.

  • Let-downs:

None. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and was too engrossed in the story to notice flaws.

  • Verdict:

A unique book, strongly recommended for everyone. (4.5/5)

  • Available at:

1. Amazon (Rs. 145)
2. Infibeam (Rs. 112)

Contact Madhuri for getting your book reviewed: writermadhuri@gmail.com

Follow her reviews on-
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/madhurivarmatheauthor

Twitter handle: https://twitter.com/madhu_rv

P.S. Please RATE the post. Hover on the stars and mark it. And LIKE the post if you like the review.

Author:

I am a Computer Engineer working with a prominent firm. Writing is my passion and likewise I love reading novels and reviewing them. Want to get your novel reviewed? Feel free to contact me at writermadhuri@gmail.com or on https://www.goodreads.com/madhurivarma Follow on FB- www.facebook.com/madhurivarmatheauthor Happy reading! Keep smiling! ;)

Leave a Reply

