Posted in Author Interviews

Author Interview: Sujit Banerjee

Born to Bengali parents in Lucknow, Sujit grew up in Patna. He finished his post-graduation in Psychology from Patna University and ended up becoming a tour operator instead of a Psychologist. His work took him all over the globe and introduced him to the worlds of Mayans and Aztecs. He started getting interested in Shamanic ways, in healing, and joined Pranic Healing courses to become a certified healer. Today, he both heals as well as reads Tarot cards. He continues to work in tourism and lives in Delhi. Let’s get to know him more-

  • Tell us something about your recently published book Rukhsat- The Departure.

Rukhsat is a short story collection. Each story is an alphabet and the lead character’s name starts with that alphabet. It is not for the weak-hearted since most stories deal with the dark side of human psyche.

Read my review of Sujit’s book “Rukhsat- The Departure”

  • When did you start writing?

Few stories were written some good 10-15 years back and then I had dropped it. I started writing again in 2013, the rest of them, and also edited the earlier ones. But you can say it took me over 3 years to complete the book.

  • Woah! That’s a long time! What is the purpose of your writing?

None! I had never thought of becoming a writer. I was and am happy doing what I do. It will be too much if I said maybe it was divine intervention! That I was always meant to write this particular book!

  • If that is the case then what inspired you to bring forth this idea of Rukhsat- The Departure as a book and be persistent over he 3 years during which you were writing this book?

In this case, ideas. I wrote because something inside me egged me on to put all of them down, get them recorded. When I had over 14-15 of them written, my friends read it and pushed me to make it into a collection and get it published.

  • Is any story from Rukhsat- The Departure inspired from real life?

Almost all of them are inspired from real life incidents. I have met the characters and heard them recount their tales. They were such powerful events that they stayed with me for years. You can say I fictionalised the real life stories.

  • Do you see a movie based on Rukhsat- The Departure being made?

Absolutely! They are powerful stories and can be brought to celluloid. It is embarrassing to admit – I sent copies to Anurag Basu and Gulzar Saheb! For a TV Serial though.

  • Oh! Good luck with that! I am sure it must be your closed ones who would be keeping you motivated at all times. What importance do you think love, family and relationships hold in an individual’s life?

Ah, that’s a tricky one! Let us just say that one does need them to be “whole”, unless you are on the path to renouncing the world. Yet I do admit that these can also be a hindrance in the path of spiritual journey. To manage both Karma and Dharma is a tough act.

  • Well said! Which of your works have been published so far?

This is my first publication. Few poems and stories have appeared in magazines and dailies.

  • So how was this journey of becoming a published author?

rukhsat-the-departure

It is a very long and tedious journey for those who take writing seriously; I don’t so perhaps it did not affect me much. Writing is just one part of the process and the trial begins when you want to get it published with stars in your eyes and a firm belief that no publisher can possibly turn it down. And that is what exactly happens. I doubt that many even bother to read through a book before sending out the rejection slip. So you need to have time, a lot of time, to plod through this part of the journey if you wish to see your book in print.

  • Which approach is better according to you: traditional or self-publishing, and why?

I would like to believe both. At least that is what I understand from my publisher – Leadstart Publishing, when they made an offer of split cost wherein I put in half and they put in the rest. But then it all depends on how many book you have sold. The maths change if you have not crossed the 500 mark.

  • What should the beginners do today?

Take reality checks. Be brutally honest in accessing your work and have money to put behind the book. Be diligent in marketing your book; no one else does it for you, not even your publisher, beyond a certain extent. Learn every trick of social media to promote your book. And if you are thinking of making money out of your first book – then just drop the idea.

  • What is your take on book publishing as you see the current scenario?

Its business and it should be. Publishing houses no longer wish to take a risk with new authors – you get them dime a dozen. Today, self publishing seems to be the only bet for new authors. There are no free lunches so don’t expect publishers to lap up your book unless you are a well-known writer.

  • What are your forthcoming writings?

I have a historical story at the back of my mind – a real life story of my great great grandfather who was part of the 1857 revolt and his love for a courtesan. 

  • What are the four top most things you take care of while writing a book?

I have no such things in my mind. I write when I wish to write and what I wish to write. For me this is not business – it is just a hobby.

  • What is your favorite genre and why?

Oh, I read every genre possible, except biographies as they bore me. I just love to read. Period.

  • What / Who is your biggest source of inspiration in life?

As far as writing goes – Gulzar Saheb, O Henry, Manto, Ismat Chugtai, Premchand, and Ray Bradbury.

  • What is the biggest challenge you have ever faced and how did you overcome it?

At a personal level, my mother who is totally paralyzed and in bed with only two senses working – sight and hearing. I bleed for her; I have proved everything possible to make her physically comfortable but I just do not know what goes through her head.

  • If you had to live a day of your life as one of the living or dead personality, who would it be and why?

His Holiness — The Dalai Lama. He is everything that I would have liked to be but just lacked courage and wanted to play it safe in life.

  • And finally, any message for the readers?

Buy the book and read it please. I promise you will not be disappointed. And do post your review on Amazon and Goodreads.

So that was Sujit for you, author of “Rukhsat- The Departure“.

Read my review of Sujit’s book “Rukhsat- The Departure”

You can get in touch with Sujit directly at: skban05@gmail.com

Contact Madhuri for your author interview and getting your book reviewed / edited: writermadhuri@gmail.com

Follow her reviews on-
Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/madhurivarmatheauthor
Twitter handle: https://twitter.com/madhu_rv

P.S. Please RATE the post. Hover on the stars and mark it. And LIKE the post if you like the interview.

Author:

I am a Computer Engineer working with a prominent firm. Writing is my passion and likewise I love reading novels and reviewing them. Want to get your novel reviewed? Feel free to contact me at writermadhuri@gmail.com or on https://www.goodreads.com/madhurivarma Follow on FB- www.facebook.com/madhurivarmatheauthor Happy reading! Keep smiling! ;)

Leave a Reply

